People Love Us On

Spinal
Yelp
Google

Read Our Success Stories

Spinal

I had headaches everyday until I saw Dr. H. I had headaches everyday. After school I had an immediate headache. My wrists and ankles were also very weak due to multiple breaks and sprains. I have been seeing Dr. Herfindahl for about three months, and I am now basically headache free. My wrists hardly hurt anymore. My ankles never bother me anymore. If you are in pain, there is a treatment out there that can help remove that pain. Why wait? No one likes to hurt. Dr. Herfindahl is a fantastic doctor. So if you are hunting like I was, your pain can go away in as little as a month, why not?

Headache Relief Patient, San Diego

When I first reached out to you in August 2016 I was a complete different person. I remember the constant battles I faced within myself, and all the pain I was constantly in. I remember my migraines hurt so badly I couldn’t sleep, and my back was so messed up I had completely given up hope of returning to the gym. I remember the pain was so bad in my right hip that I couldn’t carry my kids up the stairs anymore, but thanks to you and your amazing staff I now look at myself as a new person with a fresh start in life. Not only did you take all of my pain away with your treatments and adjustments, you have given me my self-confidence back and changed my views on life. I have so much energy now when I go to the gym, and I am back to running 15 miles a week which I never thought could be possible. I feel more confident as a person and make better eating and sleeping habits, and because of you I have the energy to play with my kids even after a long day at work. I could never thank you and your staff enough for giving me my life back, its crazy to say I look forward to my visits now because I know you were the start of the new me. Dr. Herfindahl, I really just want to say thank you for everything you have done in my life. It’s not just the adjustments or physical therapy; it’s the little things you do like coaching me in the middle of the office and showing me exercises to do in the gym. You and your staff do such an amazing job, and I could never thank you enough for everything you have done.

My recommendation to anybody seeking chiropractic care would be to see the staff here at Herfindahl Chiropractic, this team truly cares about you and will change your life forever.

-Blake Brown

“You have Given Me My Self-Confidence Back and Changed My Views on Life”

I first came to see Dr. Herfindahl years ago, for a work-related injury that caused pain in my sciatic nerve. The doctor set me up on a plan and I was experiencing relief in that area in no time. But there was another benefit I got out of it. For years, I had suffered with migraines, sometimes several per week. I noticed once I started getting regular adjustments, the migraines pretty much stopped! It was quite the unexpected bonus. Although it's been a few years since I initially became a patient, I have kept coming about once a month for healthy upkeep and general well-being. I would highly recommend Dr. Herfindahl and have, to several friends. Everyone is always pleasant, warm, and welcoming and you truly feel like family when you're there. They all care about the health and comfort of each patient. Thank you, Dr. Herfindahl and team! Sincerely,-Lauren Alegret-

“For Years, I Had Suffered With Migraines”

My name is Jim Hall, I’ve been an elevator mechanic for 35 years. Eight months ago I had ongoing neck and back problems that left me unable to function. A co-worker recommended Dr. Herfindahl; I was able to schedule an appointment almost immediately. After an evaluation and consultation, Dr. Herfindahl assured me that he could help me. His treatments included weekly adjustments, electro therapy as well as home exercises. Dr. Herfindahl and his staff have helped me feel better which has allowed me to return to work. I would high recommend Dr. Herfindahl . Very sincere thanks to Dr. Herfindahl and Staff,

-Jim Hall-

“Dr. Herfindahl and his staff have helped me feel better which has allowed me to return to work”

I had back and neck pain stemming from a motorcycle accident in my early twenties. While therapeutic messages did help, they tended to ease the pain only temporarily. I was resigned to living with daily and at time severe back pain, Until I met Dr. Herfindahl, he was able to make my spine regular over a series of treatments, offering almost instantaneous relief from the first session. I have gone from almost daily back pain to having only mild occurrences once or twice a month. I am able to live my life now without limitations. The pain is all but gone and I have Dr. Herfindahl to thank for that!

Neck & Back Pain Relief

My name is James Reavis, I am 33 years old and I will start out by saying that I “WAS” a skeptic when it came to Chiropractic. I did not think there was any benefit to chiropractic. I even thought it was a waste of time. Then one horrible day while doing a simple exercise, “BAM!” something went wrong. I was executing a dip and something “slipped” for lack of a better word, in my neck. For the first time in my life I had a neck injury. Now, I have had pain in my neck before for various reasons and it always seemed to go away on its own after a few days, only this time a few days past and my neck still hurt. The pain was so bad that I had to keep my neck tilted to one side permanently. I couldn’t even sleep at night due to my neck pain. I was worried. After about 3 weeks, some sleepless nights and a drop in my work productivity I was at a loss as to what to do about my neck. While walking through an Oktoberfest festival I came across Dr. Ashley J. Herfindahl’s booth. I was going to just walk by, but on a whim decided to see what the Doctor was all about. To my surprise he was able to diagnose right where my pain was. Still a skeptic I decided to make an appointment to see Dr. Herfindahl at his office in mission valley. After my initial consultation and a follow up to review the results, Dr Herfindahl noticed some other injuries in my neck that I did not know about. I thought back to a snowboarding crash and an unfortunate trampoline incident. Suffice it to say I needed some work done. I decided to go with the full treatment plan. Dr. Herfindahl explained to me very well how the treatment would not be an overnight fix, but that gradually over time I would get better. I could feel my neck getting better from the first treatment to the last. I would say at this point my neck is a thousand times better than before I started treatment. In fact, I was so pleased with my results that I continue to see Dr. Herfindahl on a regular basis for maintenance. Dr Herfindahl is very gentle. I never once in all my treatment felt any sort of pain, only relief from said pain. As for the staff who works at Dr. Herfindahl’s office, they are first class. They are some of the nicest people around. My job has me working different schedules on a regular basis. Dr. Herfindahl and his staff were very accommodating to my special circumstances. My overall experience was a ten out of 10. I would and have recommend Dr. Herfindal’s chiropractic services to both friends, family and anyone who will listen for that matter. Thank you for giving me my pain free life back. -James Reavis-

“My Neck Feels a Thousand Times Better!”

My name is Martha Kent. I initially saw Dr. Ashley Herfindahl due to the extreme pain radiating from my neck into my shoulder and down my right arm to my hand. I had manipulation for several months before I was pain free in these areas. After a few months I began to experience pain in my low back. The pain radiated down my left hip, into my left leg down to my knee and below the knee. I have had several months of continued manipulations to gain relief from this latest problem. I wish to thank Dr. Ashley Herfindahl for his expertise.

Neck & Shoulder Pain Relief, San Diego

I was in constant pain in my upper left side of my back. I also had numbing -tingle in my left arm with no strength in my hands. I just felt "Out of Balance". After a few weeks the pain was greatly reduced. The mobility in my neck improved. The left side of my back I felt went back to normal. After the first 8 weeks there was absolutely NO PAIN. Check with several Dr.'s. Do your homework, and have an open mind. Find you comfort zone with the doctor and the staff. Then relax and let them help you get back to the state of wellness. Thank you Dr. Herfindahl and Staff!
Shoulder & Arm Pain Relief, San Diego

My name is Leah Calica, I'm an assistant Account Representive in a Insurance Campany. I came to Dr. Herfindahl's office sue to pain in my knee, neck, shoulders, arms, and hands for about 2 years now. In the last year the pain has gotten worse. Before the treatments, I would wake up several times in one night and sometimes have to take medication just fir the pain to go away. After few weeks visit of being adjusted and receiving the cold laser treatments I had less pain. I don't take pain medication anymore and sleep through the night now. I would like to thank Dr. Ashley Herfindahl for making my everyday with less and less pain.

Neck & Shoulder Pain Relief, San Diego

Dr. Herfindahl saw me back in March of this year. I was putting my daughter in her car seat when suddenly I felt this sharp pain on mu right arm; and I wasn’t able to move it anymore. I knew right away without hesitation who I was going to call “Dr. Herfindal!!!” He had seen me before for a prior car accident I was involved in. He left me with no pain from that accident and I knew he would do the same with the pain I was feeling now.

I was having pain on my right arm and neck area, as well as my upper back. My right arm would go numb at times and I wouldn’t be able to use it. I was in severe pain. I called the Office and the same day I as seen by Dr. Herfindahl. He started therapy that same day and about the third week I was almost to my normal self again. Now I am pain free and I’m able to go about my day as if nothing had happened.

Dr. Herfindahl, Liz and Heather have made this a wonderful experience. Every visit they make me feel at home. They take care of me right away. I will surely keep coming back to them. Thank you guys for making me feel like family. I will keep on recommending you guys to my co-workers and family.

-Maria Judiz

“Within the first month of receiving treatments from Dr. Herfindahl I began feeling improvement that I had not felt in months”

I started seeing Dr. Herfindahl in September of 2021 for neck stiffness and migraines. As a college student, I was constantly reading or on my laptop and the pain was making it difficult to focus on my work. Since I began working with Dr. Herfindahl and his staff, I have seen immense improvements in my mobility as well as pain relief. My migraines and neck pain have also reduced in frequency. The fact that Dr. Herfindahl takes the time to take x-rays to see exactly what is wrong is incredible; he was able to pinpoint trigger points in my spine as well as see where posture changes would benefit me. I would definitely recommend Dr. Herfindahl to anyone who is in need of a chiropractor. Not only is he great at his job, but the staff is some of the nicest people I have ever met. They always ensured I was comfortable and allowed me to choose when I increased my traction time. I looked forward to my appointments because I knew I would be greeted by a group of smiling people who cared about my health. I am so thankful I chose to contact Herfindahl Chiropractic, and my body definitely thanks me for it. Thank you to everyone at Dr. Herfindahl's office!

“My migraines and neck pain have also reduced in frequency.”

Over 15 years ago I became a patient of Dr. Ashley when he was at his old north PB office by Gold's Gym, and stayed on with him during his move to Mission Valley. Back then I was still feeling the effects of getting thrown off a horse and having my car rear-ended that had happened ten years beforehand. My MRI indicated bulges in two of my discs, as well as neck whiplash. I had sciatic nerve and lower back pain and discomfort. When I first saw Dr. Ashley for my condition, I immediately felt comfortable with him and knew that he really cared about my physical and emotional well-being. I had been to a few other chiropractors before, but he was the first one to be able to adjust my neck, enabling me to experience relief and increased mobility. He also gave me exercises to complete, and later on referred me to the personal trainer Noelle, who helped me with strength training and movement. After continued chiropractic care, Dr. Ashley recommended that I undergo a standing MRI in order to assess my progress. I was astounded when I learned that the new MRI results showed that I no longer had bulges in my discs. My chiropractic care could move into a period of maintenance and support rather than focusing solely on 'healing' my injuries. When I became pregnant with my first son more than 11 years ago, I was very worried about an increase in my pain and discomfort. I had heard many stories from pregnant friends whose physical ailments intensified, and some who endured lower back and hip pain for the first time. To my surprise, I learned Dr. Ashley can easily perform manipulations on pregnant women. I maintained my adjustments every two weeks before I delivered, and RARELY had any back or hip issues, or spike in my pain. Without being under Dr. Ashley's care during that pregnancy and the following one, I truly believe that I would have experienced a lot more discomfort and pain. A true testament to my commitment to chiropractic care is that my sons, now ages 10 and 8, also receive chiropractic adjustments with Dr. Ashley. He assesses their needs and carefully adjusts them. If he determines that they do not require adjustments during their appointments, then he will not do any manipulations. Additionally, throughout the years, the office staff has become like family to me. They have gotten to know me and my children very well. The staff reminds me about appointments, and when I have a flare-up or require immediate attention, they ensure that I get seen by Dr. Ashley at his very earliest convenience. I feel grateful for everything that Dr. Ashley and his staff - Anna, Heather, Kyla and Liz - do for me and their other patients every month, and I am happy to refer my friends and family to them. Without their care, attention to detail and support, I know that my health and overall well-being would be very different than it is today. With much appreciation and gratitude to them, I write this story of success. -Stacie Bresler-Reinstein-

Pain Free For Over 15 Years

My name is ILeana V. And I want to tell you my testimony about how my visit to the Chiropractor has given me back my life. Literally! A couple of years ago I lived one of the most terrible experiences of my life. And it is not an exaggeration what I am going to tell you: after several visits to the doctor and specialists for headaches, sore throat, neck pain, back pain, stomach pain, chest pain, general body pain, feeling tired, pain and numbness on my legs, arms, hands and feet. My symptoms were getting worse! Stayed several nights in the emergency room, due to lack of air, intense chest pain, problems speaking, long episodes of depression and anxiety, migraines and headaches that I had never felt also sadness, crying, stress, fear, despair and frustration. I do not even remember the name of so many medicines I had to take! Even more; My moral and anemic state was shattered. My face was pale, had dark circles, eyes crying and reflected anguish, despair and sadness. We did not know what to do! My husband found Dr. Ashley J. Herfindahl's office; from the first visit you feel well taken care of and comfortable. Liz, Heather and Kyla; The reception girls are so attentive, friendly and always good! They are the maximum. Dr. Ashley J. Herfindahl is very attentive, respectful and trustworthy. It is a very warm facilities and a friendly atmosphere. When he examined my nerves and took the x-rays; I was surprised. The truth I was a little incredulous! I was feeling so bad, knowing and having consulted doctors and specialists; how was it possible that in this office they could help me? I was so desperate to feel good that I tried it! And now I do not regret it. It was the first time I had visited a Chiropractor. They gave me a brochure and they explained that every body’s is and reacts differently! And I was going to experience different reactions. In my first adjustment, I felt so strange. My first reaction was to cry, all night! But it was a cry of relief, of liberation. And I felt better! In my first massage I was crying too! Can you imagine how bad I felt?! Thus passed the adjustments and each day were minor “Corrections". Less migraines, less depression, less pain. The numbness in hands, feet and arms disappeared. No pain in the chest and throat. I feel stronger and better. I understood many things about how the body works. It was truly incredible!. Now over the course of almost a year I feel much better physically, emotionally, and mentally. I can do the things I couldn't longer do. The mere fact of being awake, eat, think. All these things were pain for me. It was not easy for me; especially because I live an hour from here, and had to came 3 times a week. I still need work more; especially in my neck. But you know? For real; No matter what you have! Because you can have from a simple stomachache, and you don't know that this can be due to your lower back? Can you imagine everything that can be affected sentimental, moral, and physically; and that the problem can be solved with a visit to the Chiropractor? When you really want to feel better and there is no doctor, pill or place to help you; You have to do this!: Go with a Chiropractor; WITH MY CHIROPRACTOR! Dr. Ashley J. Herfindahl.

-ILeana V.

“THANK YOU Dr. Ashley J. Herfindahl GOD BLESS YOU!”

After retiring and moving to San Diego, I was experiencing severe back and leg pain with no idea who to turn to for relief. Several friends recommended Dr. Herfindahl with positive comments and praise. I am so glad that I took their advice. Walking into his office I was greeted by friendly staff who promptly introduced themselves and helped me with all my paperwork. I met with Dr. Herfindahl and reviewed all my medical concerns. He was professional in his approach to the problem and after completing the initial testing, recommended a series of decompression treatments along with his adjustments. The difference has been night and day! I no longer have the debilitating pain and can resume my daily activities pain free. Dr. Herfindahl has been there through the whole process, making adjustments in my treatment when needed and offering suggestions to maintain my health in between treatments. I would highly recommend Herfindahl Chiropractic to anyone who is experiencing limited mobility and pain. His office staff are friendly and very helpful, with a big smile to all who walk through the doors, and "Dr. Ashley" is akind, caring professional whose main focus is the overall health of his clients. -Ann Marie Kissel-

“I no longer have the debilitating pain and can resume my daily activities pain free”

Hi There! My Name is Moji Afcari, I am an Infant Educator/Early Interventionist & for the past 10 years I have been working with children ages 0-3 who are at risk for developmental delays or who have pre-existing conditions such as: Down Syndrome or Cerebral Palsy. I provide therapeutic & educational evidence based practices through play in the children’shomes that benefit their cognitive skills, physical skills, speech & language development, social/emotional development, self-help skills and lastly behavior management. I absolutely ADORE my job & love to watch the children I work with succeed in their development. Like some occupations that come with drawbacks, mine is no different. My job requires me to sit on the floor with the children I work with; hence it’s taken a toll on my body; especially my back causing me lots of pain. Fortunately, back in February of 2013 I sought the help of Dr. Ashley Herfindahl’s Chiropractic Services who was recommended by a friend. Needless to say, Dr. Herfindahl has tremendously helped me to get some relief from the pain I was going through every day. I continue to see Dr. Herfindahl on a weekly basis & I really look forward to my appointments; not only for the relief he gives me; but also for the wonderful smiles & positive attitude I receive from Liz & Heather. I highly recommend Dr. Herfindahl; because not only is he professional and gets you relief; but also because you are treated like “Family” every time you visit him. Warmly, -Moji Afcari-

“Dr. Herfindahl has tremendously helped me... get relief from the pain I was going through every day.”

I sit at a computer most of the day. By the afternoon my upper back and neck would be sore. Initially I came in to see if I could get some relief from the afternoon discomfort and improve my posture. Until I was asked in the office I didn't realize how much it actually hurt because I had gotten used to it to some extent, and it had been a gradual process. After just a few visits I noticed that the daily headaches I had (not something that I initially came in for) were gone I also just felt better overall. I also began to notice that my back was doing better in the afternoons. Over time my back and posture continued to improve, and my family noticed. Then one day I noticed that this tremor I had in my hands since I was in high school was gone, so I started thinking about other things I may have not thought about and realized that my blood sugar seemed more stable. I'm not diabetic, just would have a tendency to have low blood sugar. Overall I just feel better and healthier, and I am grateful for my improvement.
Pain Relief Also Improved Posture

I Suffered from Sciatica and Spondylolisthesis Some years ago, I suffered from Sciatica and Spondylolisthesis. I contacted Dr. Herfindahl to seek treatment and he suggested that I was a candidate for the DRX 9000 decompression treatment. After 22 ongoing painless treatments, the Sciatica pain was gone and my lifestyle improved immensely. I still get treatments on a regular basis to address my issue of Spondylolisthesis. Before seeing Dr. Herfindahl, surgery was the plan of action. I had second thoughts about surgery, which was to be performed within a short period of time. Another option suggested was epidural spinal injections. I'm glad to say that both of the above listed options were not done. Dr. Ashley Herfindahl is the BEST!

Sciatica and Spondylolisthesis Relief, San Diego

I found Dr. Herfindahl's offer of $47 for an x-ray evaluation of my spine/posture on the internet. It appealed to me because the price was right, and at that time my hip hurt so much that I could barely walk. My prior chiropractor did not have x-ray capability and relied primarily on muscle testing for his diagnostics and treatments. I was so impressed with Dr. Herfindahl's array of options for treatment! It made a lot of sense to me to be treated by activators, given my spinal misalignment, which was apparently the result of forty years if sitting hunched over a desk, in my career of an aircraft pricer/estimator/contract I am now walking without any pain, and am working on building endurance in my walking, so that I can once again take walks with my lovely wife, who has encouraged me throughout the course of my treatment. -Don R. Bukovich -

"I am now walking without any pain."

In full transparency...I have to say, I was not a believer. Not in holistic medicine, not in alternative medicine and definitely not in chiropractic medicine. I believed if you were sick or injured you saw a doctor, a medical doctor.

And that's exactly what I did.

About five years ago I was lifting weights, Romanian Deadlifts to be exact. I was well into my fitness journey and had hit a stride that gave me the confidence to lift heavier. That’s when it happened, I had thrown my back out. The pain was immediate and paralyzing. It had left my body in a state of unpredictable impairedness that lasted until March 2021.
It wasn't until I had reached a point of frustration with traditional medicine that I realized I needed to try something- heck, anything that would give me my body back.

It wasn’t until my brother (Mike Bravence) recommended his "guy" to me. And that's where you all come in!

Dr. Herfindahl and his entire team at Herfindahl Chiropractic have been instrumental not only in the rehab of my back, but to the overall wellness of my entire body. For so long I had accepted the truth that I may never feel strong enough to resume activities I loved.

I am happy to report that after a year of treatment, I can feel my body not hating me so much! From electric stimulation to traction therapy, that slipped disc pain is now managed to the point I started lifting again.

Thank you Dr. Herfindhal and staff for giving me by body back!

- Chris Bravence, a happy client

“I had thrown my back out. The pain was immediate and paralyzing.”

When we reach a certain age we are told that aches and pains are just part of the process. The inability to move the way we once could, accommodating immobility all seem to be part of the norm. But guess what? Thanks to practitioners like Dr. Ashley Herfindahl I have been able to regain some of my youthful flexibility. I suffered from low back, shoulder and knee pain. In my first visit to Dr. Herfindahl was able to identify areas of my body that were impinging movement. There was a visual scan image that were red and black indicating more severely affected areas of my body. After 6 months of treatment we did another scan and as they say in traffic “Green means GO!” As good of a chiropractor as Dr. Herfindahl is, he can’t do it alone. He is only as good as his patients who follow his recommendations. Sometimes I am not a good patient. But Liz and Gigi always do what they can to get me in so Dr. Herfindahl can work his magic. Thanks to all of you for making Herfindahl Chiropractic a fun and helpful place to be. You are all fantabulastic!

- Donna Stewart

“I suffered from Low Back, Shoulder and knee pain”

I was seen by Dr. Herfindahl, as my primary caretaker, but also have been helped by GiGi and Liz, either with setting me up for traction or doing stimulation on injured areas of my body. When I first came in I was having horrible neck/upper back pain that made it difficult to breath, I couldn't turn my head, and it was continuing to get worse. I learned I had underlying issues with my alignment but what really set it off was jet skiing about a week prior and slamming down really hard causing a whole jolt up my body. I had also been dealing with long term (10+ years) shoulder pain (torn labrum) as well as hip/lower back pain due to years of poor posture, trying to appear shorter, hypermobility, and also hunching in on myself due to chronic pain. It ended up I had many alignment issues, a good majority in my upper back and neck, that were causing issues all down my body. Most of my issues have been resolved, or decreased by probably 85%, since I started seeing Dr. Herfindahl. My upper back alignment has been mostly corrected, which has left my lower back without it's proper curve, but that is to be expected as we have been working on my alignment from the head down and as we work on the lower back, I've found a very large percentage of my chronic hip pain has disappeared. I don't have the neck issue at all anymore either. The reason I only say 85% for improvement is because I have some other issues, besides just structural, that also require me to work on the actual muscles as well as the underlying structure of my body. I have started working with a physical therapist while also continuing to get my chiropractic adjustments and continue to see improvements every week. As someone that has been dealing with chronic pain for over 10 years (due to endometriosis), I honestly never thought I would feel as good as I do now. I had not realized how my chronic pain caused me to put my body in bad positions, and how long term that just compounded the pain I was dealing with. Although chiropractic care cannot fix my endometriosis, it has helped fix many of the issues dealing with long term pain caused and has given me a quality of life that I did not think I could have. It is amazing to only have to deal with my endometriosis pain and not have to also deal with neck, back, hip pain as well. I would. I wouldn't (and didn't) believe the believe the benefits of chiropractic care until I worked with Dr. Herfindahl. I've seen other chiropractors in the past but none of them have taken the time to really explain what is going on with my body, and what a treatment plan would look like. Also, none of them have ever done traction, given me exercises to help with stabilization, or used stimulation to help with pain and inflammation. I am constantly blow away when I come in with some ache or issue, and more often than not he notices the issue before I can even tell him about it. He is also good at listening when you try, sometimes poorly, to describe what symptoms you are having, and being able to translate that and make the adjustments that are needed to resolve the issue. My overall experience at the office and with the team has been very positive. Gigi and Liz always greet me with a (genuine) smile, they seem to take a real interest in how their patients are doing physically and mentally and do whatever they can to make sure you are taken care of. They explain what they are doing every step of the way, and don't get annoyed if you forget and ask them for an explanation again at future visits. Dr. Herfindahl has an impressive memory, asks you for updates about your life, remembers what you discussed last time you were in the office and treats you as more than just a patient on his table. That is something that is rare for doctors that are constantly moving through people all day and it makes you know that you aren't just a dollar sign.

- Ashlie M

“I was having horrible neck/upper back pain that made it difficult to breath I couldn't turn my head”

I have been seen by the wonderful Dr. Ashley and Dr. Chris. I also have had the pleasure to be taken care of by both Liz and Gigi! The entire staff has honestly taken care of me in one way or another during my time at Herfindahls! They don’t just care about your physical health and healing but you’re mental and emotional as well and are always there for a quick chat or pick me up! The entire staff makes the office have a wonderful, bubbly atmosphere!

I have been seen for 12+ health issues past and present. I have seen an amazing progress with the correction of my spine and neck! I also love the exercises they have given me that have helped me strengthen my core for continued health and wellness! I also have had two different types of traction that has made a world of difference!

My health issues are getting immensely better! The adjustments are amazing and always make my body feel much better! Dr. Ashley will also focus on specific problem areas or issues during appointments, and I always feel much better and experience much less pain after each adjustment! As a music teacher and singer, correcting and helping my posture is so important for breath support and singing tone. The posture also helped immensely as we transitioned over to distance learning, and I had to work from home in different environments.

I would absolutely love to recommend Herfindahl Chiropractic to anyone who would listen! The adjustments and traction are wonderful while being surrounded by a light, fun atmosphere provided by the office staff.

Overall, I absolutely love Herfindahl Chiropractic! They truly care about my health and wellness: physically, mentally, and emotionally! I truly look forward to my visits to chat with Gigi and Liz and have all my billing/paperwork needs taken care with a breeze! They are super flexible and helpful for my questions and needs! Dr. Ashley and Dr. Chris are very educational and professional while providing wonderful adjustments and traction! Herfindahl Chiropractic is absolutely fantastic!

- Anna Johanns

“ I have seen amazing progress with the correction of my spine and neck”

Dr. Ashley saw me just for a regular check-up! Even if nothing is wrong, when I get adjusted I feel much better! I will recommend Dr. Ashley to anyone I can. I am always happy when my mom tells me she scheduled an appointment for me!

- Alyssa Yip

“When I get adjusted I feel much better”

As a last resort chance of avoiding back surgery for my degenerated and compressed discs, L-3, L-4, & L-5, I came to Dr. Herfindahl to try spinal decompression. It worked better than I imagined and I was able to return to my retirement activity of raising goats. Since then, I was able to raise 19 goats and still remain active.
Additionally, I was spared surgery on my shoulder for 15 years past the date it had been scheduled because of Dr. Herfindahl's magic shoulder adjustments. I have recommended Dr. Herfindahl to several friends and family members and some of them have also benefitted from Dr. Herfindahl's unique techniques. I continue to get tune-ups on a monthly basis to remain in peak condition.
The office staff and decompression assistants are likewise unique and indispensable to successful and enjoyable treatments. My highest review ratings go to Dr. Herfindahl, Liz, Gigi and Kyla.

Thank-You so much,
-Bob Philley

“I was spared surgery on my shoulder for 15 years past the date it had been scheduled because of Dr. Herfindahl”

In late November 2021, I started feeling a strange twinge in my lower left back. Thought it would go away but instead, that pain started traveling through my lumbar region and left glute/leg. It was a “familiar” pain path—which almost mirrored my original disc herniation that occurred in my L5/S1 back in 2011-2012.

With much mental rehearsing to calm my own fears, I told myself “I am NOT getting a spinal fusion”. My massage therapist referred me to “this great chiropractor” and assured me that before I even consider calling my back surgeon or my regular doctor, I need to call Dr. Herfindahl! Much to my surprise, the kind, understanding woman who answered the call immediately claimed my initial fears. Upon arrival to my appointment, I was completely impressed by every facet of the experience and learning what a subluxation was! Wait…. Liz made me repeat the word, twice! (LOL!)
When Dr. Herfindahl came into the exam room I noticed that he was sporting some cool socks and shoes and believe it or not, that also calmed my fears. As he expertly educated me on what he does and how spinal SUBLUXATIONS impact the organs, I was thinking to myself “NO WAY” because he pin-pointed so much of what I was experiencing, health-wise! He made it abundantly clear that until he reviews my x-rays, he will not know if he can help me. He told me that he can’t reverse any physical damage, but he certainly can HELP to get me on the right path and reduce, if not eliminate the pain. I was so floored with the knowledge I gleaned from Dr. Herfindahl in that one appointment, that I shifted from fear to comfort and gratitude.
After reading my x-rays, Dr. Herfindahl asked me “Are you ready? This will be intense but worth it.” I recall that fear resurfacing and I had to interrupt him and asked “Intense, as in pain, because I can’t handle any more of that” as he smirked and said, “Intense as in commitment — attending appointments, following up on home assignments and exercises and complying with the plan kind of intense” and I said “Ohhh I can DO that!”

I’ll have to testify— I was still a scaredy-cat to get adjusted and had visions of crazy yanking motions in my head—you know, the kind you see on IG and Facebook. Anyways, my first adjustment was NOTHING like I feared, so my fears subsided, and peace covered me. I knew I was with a healer.

I immediately started decompression therapy; I still had a little fear-not going to lie. But Liz, who is the ultimate caretaker, calmed me down, too, just with her innate kindness and beautiful spirit. She was real and down to earth and made me laugh. Then, there was Kyla running around helping all of us by turning off timers and getting me hooked up to e-stim and making sure I was comfortable and had ice when I wanted it and teaching me how to do “the ABC’s with your foot” to regain ankle strength, which was GONE…maaan, I started feeling better mentally and spiritually!!!

I started to feel far less pain and was beginning to sleep after the first two weeks of treatment, I knew that I was exactly where I was called to be. I continued to heal over the next several weeks of treatments where I was able to sleep a full night, then was able to start sitting again and now I am totally pain free.

I’m in the maintenance phase now and come in for adjustment and traction weekly. I am so incredibly grateful for divine alignments and appointments. I’m so glad Dr. Herfindahl answered his calling as an educator and healer! Shout out to Liz and Kyla as well because this dynamic team CARES, and it shows in all they do, every day. It’s not very often that I walk into a doctor’s office to welcoming smiles, shared laughter, GREAT music, and honesty. Those things matter—and are all part of the healing process!

-Betsy Walker

“I started to feel far less pain and was beginning to sleep after the first two weeks of treatment”

My experience with Dr. Herfindahl was amazing. I have had back pain for 3 yrs and I can say I have had the best improvements when I came here. Thanks to Dr. Herfindahl and the staff. I can walk better, I can sleep with no pain. I can even run now! When I first came in I had sever pain and trouble getting up in the mornings it was such a hassle.

Thank you again Dr. Herfindahl and all the staff!

-Herniated Disc Pain Relief

“I had Sever Lower Back Pain.”

Hi my name is Andrea Leonard, I am a College Volleyball Coach. I had Serious low back pain, legs giving out, inability to perform daily tasks, could not move well, exercise or even do daily movements I received DRX, Laser, Adjustments and exercises to strengthen.

My experience has been exceptional. I came into the office very much in pain and feeling hopeless. I was at the point of realizing the only thing left was surgery, until I spoke with Dr. Herfindahl and he assured me of the process and I trusted his expertise. I started a treatment right then, and even after the first visit felt some alleviation and hope for the process.

I went in with a very limited mobility and range, that was in January 2014, today I am jogging everyday, swimming, stand up paddle boarding and just bought a surfboard! I also am able to run my team's practices with no pain and much better mobility. I no longer feel debilitated and have a sense of happiness and enthusiasm.

I appreciate and respect Dr. Herfindahl's approach and care, I am back to enjoying everyday life!

- Andrea Leonard

“Decompression Helped Me with My Herniated Disc”

I was seen by Liz, Dr H and Kyla. I was seen for serious lower back pains as an MRI revealed I had an L4-L5 herniated disc pushing on the L5 nerve root. The issue is MUCH better, working towards 100%. I would highly recommend Dr H and his staff to others. Very friendly, very helpful and eager to get good results for you as a patient. All therapies they provide are interesting and helpful in their own ways. I felt that with a massage at times it would help more so your body could fully relax. The DRX machine made a dramatic difference after a few months of treatment. This Dr. and his staff know their stuff! If you are having issues with your body and need a checkup, I would highly encourage a visit to the office so they can fix you up!

- Sincerely Mike Bravence

“I Would Highly Recommend Dr H.”

My name is Olimpia Valentin and I was involved in a head on car accident last August with my mom. At the time, my mom was already seeing Dr. Herfindahl to relieve her arm and back pain, but the accident aggravated her situation. As a result to the incident, I also started suffering from back and chest pain to the point that it was interfering with my daily activities such as work and dancing. At the beginning, I could not stand the chest pain and I had to stop working out, and even took time off from the dance team that I was part of. After every visit, my mom and I felt much better and we started seeing improvements after a few weeks. Now, I no longer have chest pain and I feel just like before the accident occurred. I will definitely recommend Dr. Herfindahl; he is a fantastic doctor and truly cares about his patients!

“I Was Suffering From Back And Chest Pain”!

I’d like to share my experience with Dr. Herfindahl. I was suffering from a severely herniated disk in my back. After many months of extreme pain, a cortisone shot reduced the pain to a manageable level but not to a level I could live with long term. I couldn’t tie my own shoes. I couldn’t sit or stand for very long. I tried physical therapy, stretching, acupuncture. My last resort before back surgery was decompression. I had heard it worked for some but to be honest, I was dubious. And the treatment is not inexpensive. I found Dr. H. on the Internet. He took the time to review my MRI and after testing me, told me plainly that my recovery would not be easy or quick given the size of the herniation. But it was this or surgery.

Six months or so later we’re still working on it, but I am much improved. I have no pain and much more mobility. I have (most of) my life back. I am so impressed by his patience, expertise and, most of all, his genuine concern for my recovery. This is how health providers are meant to be. He has prescribed an effective combination of decompression, cold laser and tense treatments in the office and taught me exercises to do on my own to maximize my recovery. Everything combined, with time, has delivered great improvement. His staff is also very caring and friendly.

If you have any doubts at all about the character or professional expertise of Dr. H. or his staff, please don’t have to: you’re in good hands. Having gone down the road with this treatment, let me assure you that you will not find anyone better. Good luck to you and I wish you a speedy recovery!

– David Brauner

“Let Me Assure You That You Will Not Find Anyone Better Than Dr. Herfindahl”

I have been seeing Dr. Herfindahl and his staff since October 2016. I started seeing Dr. Herfindahl after experiencing muscle cramps on my upper back and neck. I started to feel relief within a few days. In February, I was involved in a minor car accident that caused the muscle cramps and neck pain to come back. The chief complaints have been getting better and are almost completely resolved.

At the time I began to seek care in this office, I was also experiencing dizziness and headaches. I am no longer experiencing dizziness, headaches are rare, neck pain is occasional, and back pain has been resolved.

I would recommend Dr. Herfindahl’s team to others looking for a chiropractor in the area. The staff is caring and welcoming. They listen to their patient’s needs and address them in a timely manner. Dr. Herfindahl does an excellent job at explaining what is going on and the treatment plan. I also thought it was extremely helpful that x-rays were taken to know what was being treated. My overall experience at this office has been great. I would highly recommend this team for anyone’s Chiropractic needs.

– Crystal Barajas

“I started to feel relief within a few days.”

There are so many factors that come together in order to make or break a chiropractic experience. Level of professionalism, efficiency, attitude, value, the list goes on. I can honestly say, that there isn’t a single factor of my entire Herfindahl experience that hasn’t been above and beyond any and all my expectations!

Upon my first visit to see Dr. Herfindahl, I had never been to a chiropractor before, did not know what to expect, and was in a large amount of pain, due to a cervical spine injury sustained during a bad fall. I filled out detailed questionnaires, had a very thorough, professional assessment done, and immediately knew I was in the right hands. My injury was explained to me in detail, along with the entire mechanism of the spinal cord and the nervous system, my options listed, and a treatment plan suggested. I never felt like I was being conned into treatment that was unnecessary or overly expensive, and with every visit, I consistently began to feel better and better. Now, not only is my injury completely gone, I still come back regularly for adjustments, massages, exercise, and check ins, just to make sure I’m taking care of my spinal cord as best I can.

Dr. Herfindahl has changed my entire life – and that is not an understatement. Only now do I pay attention to how much pressure I put on my spine, how I sit, and what exercises I do. He has explained to me the importance of taking care of oneself, and there is no one else I will go see when I have any pain or discomfort in the future. I trust him fully to makes sure that the degeneration in my neck doesn’t progress any further, and I maintain a healthy spine!

Now this team would be incomplete without the fantastic ladies that make every visit so special. I have never met a more wonderful, genuine group of women who are so supportive, professional, sweet, and always make me laugh out loud. Liz and Heather stay on top of calls and scheduling and a million other things, all the while making sure that their clients are catered to on every level. Though the client appreciate month muffins may have made my jeans fit a little tighter, I have never been anywhere where I felt like I was truly cared for and looked after. Kyla may already be sick of me, as it is now impossible for me to go more than a couple of weeks without seeing her for one of her sensational massages. Her knowledge of the human body is impressive to say the least, and she always knows exactly where I need the most work. Not to mention she’s an absolute treat to spend 90 minutes with every week or two!

This entire practice is one of my favourite places in San Diego – and that’s saying a lot, considering I spent half my time there in severe pain before they fixed me! I’ve already sent three people their way, and I would never hesitate to refer anyone and everyone there for all their chiropractic needs. A true gem!!!

– Ola Zak

“Dr. Herfindahl has changed my entire life – and that is not an understatement.”

I saw Dr. Herfindahl for lower back and leg pain. After an exam, X-ray and MRI tests, I found out I had a herniated disc in my L4 - L5. I also had disc degeneration in other areas of my lumbar. The pain in my back and leg was causing weakness that prevented me from working full time. I began spinal decompression, cold laser treatments and chiropractic adjustments. After 4 months of treatments the pain in my back and legs were 90% better. I am now able to go back to work. I will continue to get Spinal Decompression treatments monthly to prevent it from coming back. I've recommended Dr. Herfindahl to so many of my friends and relatives. Everyone there was great and friendly. Good place to go if you’re suffering from any pain.

-Mark Rohr

“I am now able to go back to work.”

I found Dr. Herfindahl on the web and have been treated by him since July 2016.
When I first saw him I had neck, arm and lower back pain along with a hiatal hernia. I am improving everyday but I am definitely a work in progress.
I have recommended Dr. Herfindahl to family and they LOVE him. I will continue to recommend him to family and friends.
Thank you Dr. Herfindahl for giving me my life back! I am so blessed to have found you!

-Debbie Chrisope

“Thank you Dr. Herfindahl for giving me my life back!”

My name is Jeremy Fitzpatrick last year 2016 I hurt my back. I was referred to Dr. Herfindahl’s office by a close friend. I had never been to a chiropractor and heard some things about it being fake medicine. But my friend insisted I try it out, so I did. So I went down to Dr. Herfindahl’s office where I was greeted by some of the most outgoing happy staff on the planet. I met with Dr. Herfindahl, and was examined. He quickly came up with a plan to fix me up; he said 6 months to fix me up blah blah blah… Then gave me my first adjustment! And to my surprise I immediately felt the difference!!!!!

He also gave me some exercises to do in between visits; all of these things put together did the trick!! Not even half way through my months rehab and I was already back to full strength. I continued going and every time I go I swear I feel stronger then the last!!!

I would, and have recommended Dr. Herfindahl to everyone I know! Dr. Herfindahl and his office staff made all the difference! I AM HEALED!!!

-Jeremy Fitzpatrick-

“I would, and have recommended Dr. Herfindahl to everyone I know!”

I saw Dr. Herfindahl, he is an amazing Dr. that listens to your concerns and does his best to accommodate his patients. I came in because I had this non-stop pain in my back that I could not for the life of me stop. Upon the initial (intake) getting to know you visit, I found out that from a car accident that I had 7 years prior, I actually did have some whiplash! I never had any pain in my neck but the good Dr. showed me through x-rays, damage that occurred from that accident and how my body has compensated leading to my back pain.I still have some pain but it is nothing like what I felt the first day I came in, I continue to go to all my appointments and I follow my at home care that has been suggested to me.I will continue to tell all that are looking for a chiropractor about "MY" Dr. and the office. Liz and Heather are the friendliest and sweetest front office ladies "Ever"!I love my appointments because of the fun that I have when I get there and the feeling of relaxation when I leave. I rate this office on a scale of 1-10 a complete 50! -Telesa Hoagland-

"I Had This Non-Stop Pain in My Back That I Could Not For the Life of Me Stop"

For a long while before I had begun seeing Dr. Herfindahl, my mom had been bugging me to go see him. Saying that "He has helped her," and that "I would be surprised." I was slightly skeptical because nothing we had done had helped my lower back and no one we had seen seemed to be able to help me with it either. Finally I gave in and my mother scheduled me an appointment. The first day I went in I was under the impression that all the pain in my back was due to pulled and weak muscles. Dr. Herfindahl took an X-ray for me and quickly established that some of my vertibre were angled abnormally and were pushing up against the discs in my spine. Dr. Herfindahl found out more about my back in 30 minutes than numerous other people had found out in months. My mother scheduled me for three visits a week for four weeks and throughout these four weeks I felt my back progressively getting better. I finally began to be able to play soccer again. As each week passed I found that I could spend more and more time on the soccer field due to my back becoming progressively healthier. I would highly recommend Dr. Herfindahl to anyone who is in need of healing. Through Dr. Herfindal I have learned that many problems can be attributed to having a body that is out of alignment. Dr. Herfindahl has certainly helped me progress with healing my back and given me optimism for my future with soccer. One of the often overlooked aspects of medical facility's is how the employees and environment make you feel. So often hospitals are filled with monotone receptionists suffering from extreme boredom, but not at Dr. Herfindahls office. His receptionists are always welcoming and responsive to all of his patients as they are helping prep them to see Dr. Herfindahl. Furthermore the office is filled with decorative furniture and stimulating decorations, such as his fun facts and inspirational quotes. Overall I am greatful for my mother pushing me to get healthier and referring me to Dr. Herfindahl. I am also extremely grateful for Dr. Herfindahl and all of his helpers for putting the time and energy into helping me get healthy again.

“Dr. Herfindahl found out more about my back in 30 minutes than numerous other people had found out in months”

I saw Dr. Herfindahl because I injured my lower back while exercising. The injury left me in a lot of pain that kept me from sleeping well and made it painful and very uncomfortable to work. Dr. Herfindahl's therapy and adjustments not only relieved my pain and fixed my posture he also gave me tips and exercises (preventative measures) to help prevent any future injury. I would definitely recommend Dr. Herfindahl to anyone in need of a chiropractor, I have had a very positive experience with him and his staff.

-Many Thanks-

“Dr. Herfindahl Relieved my Pain and Fixed My Posture”

My first appointment with Dr. Ashley Herfindahl was on May 31st, 2017. I had lower back pain for almost a year. It was so bad while vacationing in Hawaii that I needed help to exit the plane. I also realized at that time that my posture was not erect --I was bent over at the waist. It made me look fifteen years older. My neck was also pretty stiff. Dr. Herfindahl did a very thorough examination which included x-rays. I learned that I had two compressed discs. Dr. Herfindahl started me on the DXR9000 for disc decompression. Almost overnight my posture improved allowing me to walk upright and I look fifteen years younger. I received adjustments twice a week. The lower back pain went away and I feel like a new person. I'm running again and started swinging my old golf clubs. The staff at Dr. Herfindahl's office fabulous. They are very friendly and professional. I have referred many people to Dr. Herfindahl and I will continue letting others know of his great skills.

-Robert Hensley-

“Almost overnight my posture improved...”

As a senior I want to maintain a good quality of life and remain active. Three years ago, I had constant pain in my lower back. Movement had become an issue and I found myself exhausted from the pain. Medication and surgery were recommended, however I wanted to pursue an alternative. Dr. Herfindahl was recommended to me by another chiropractor. Following my initial screening, it was determined my lower back might benefit from being decompressed. A comprehensive was developed by Dr. H, his chiropractic assistants and me. We became a team and spent several months implementing the plan. I came several times a week; a 3-time week, a 2-time week, and a 1-time week for several months. I received a massage once a month at a very reasonable rate. In addition to the decompression protocol, I learned what exercises were needed to sustain the healing that was occurring, what benefits dietary changes and supplements would have, and how to carry and position my body when being upright and sleeping. LOL...straight back chairs, hinge bends, and body pillows to help me sleep on my back are my best friends. To maintain and sustain my good health I now come for adjustments twice a month.

Coming to Herfindahl Chiropractic is one of the best decisions I ever made! From the moment, I came through the door of this office, all my experiences have been joyous. Dr. H and all the chiropractic assistants and massage therapists have been and continue to be positive and helpful! I have learned how to take good care of myself and sustain my active life. Dr Herfindahl is, without a doubt, the best chiropractor I have ever connected with. I look forward to every appointment and recommend Herfindahl Chiropractic to family, friends and anyone who is wanting to obtain and sustain a healthy body and lifestyle.

-Nancy Spejcher-

“I Had Constant Pain in my Lower Back”

I started seeing Dr. Herfindahl about a 7 months ago. I had been in a car accident about a year prior and still had a lot of neck pain and loss of range of motion. I also wanted to improve my posture and get an assessment of what I needed to improve. Dr. Herfindahl came up with a plan for me and at the end of the program I have no more pain, and have an ideal posture. I am going to continue to do the things out of the office that Dr. Herfindahl has recommended to maintain the improvements I have made under his care. I went straight to Dr. Herfindahl’s office after another minor collision and he treated me and my mother that very day. I have and would recommend Dr Herfindahl to friends looking for a good chiropractor. The staff is great and always have smiles on their faces.

-Jason Feibish-

“I Had Constant Pain in my Lower Back”

I was referred from a colleague to Dr. Herfindahl. I walked in and was immediately impressed by his wonderful staff and Dr. Herfindahl's attention to detail. I met with Dr. Herfindahl and did a thorough exam, x-rays, and flexibility test. My lower L4 and L5 where touching and caused shooting pains down my left leg. I injured my back while golfing and over extending myself. I heard from a friend who is a retired fire fighter, and he swore by the Spinal Decompression drx9000 machine. I decided to give it a shot. Prior to visiting Dr. Herfindahl, I went to a back specialist, and a San Diego Sports facility. Nothing was working and for 6 months I had pain and nothing was getting better. I started my chiropractic adjustments, cold laser therapy, and would go on the decompression machine 3 days a week for the first few months. I had good days, bad days, but with the little patients I have, things started getting better and better. After a few months, I still had some pain, but a lot less then when I started. Then after a few months, I started some exercises that Dr. Herfindahl recommended to strengthen my core, which had immediate impact on my back. I became more aware of what not to do and what to do. I am at about 90 percent better today which is getting better weekly. I highly recommend Dr. Herfindahl and his great staff. Always gracious, and willing to work around my chaotic schedule. -Andrew Mano-

“Spinal Decompression Helps Low Back Golf Injury”

Hi my name is Rick Patton, I am a geologist. I had low back pain and mid-back pain. The Issue is resolved. In addition, I have noticed I am sick a lot less, even with colds, since starting treatments. And if I do catch a cold, its duration is much shorter than before. Springtime allergies are completely gone as well. Would I recommend Dr. Herfindahl to others? I have done so, and just this weekend. I hope he drops in soon. -Rick Patton-

“I no longer have Mid-Back and Lower Back pain!”

My name is Adriana Dominguez. I had been suffering for Years from horrible back and shoulder pain. Pain that I had been managing with pills. I had been to see my primary care physician for her to only tell they figured it was arthritis at my young age of 31 and there was really nothing they could do for me besides give me pain meds for when I couldn't tolerate it. Or cortisone shots. The Dr suggested I change jobs? Really? Like if it were an option to me. Both options weren't an option. I tried physical therapy and the pain temporarily subsided. Pain obviously returned. I had forgotten what life was like without constant pain throughout my day. When I decided to try something else I searched Groupon for messages and Chiropractors to see if it would help. I came across Dr. Herfindahl. I purchased the deal on Groupon. Right away I was greeted by Liz. And I was blown away by the excellent customer service. I appreciate how easy every thing was made for me. From payments made easy to fit my budget to scheduling that was perfect for my busy on the go life. From first being skeptical of the process to now being a believer, I have been months without pain now since starting treatment. It's a feeling that I hadn't felt it years. No more throbbing in my back, no tense shoulder, no stiffness, no more days where the only relief was to lay flat on the floor. I feel great. It was almost hard to believe to be true since pain and meds had become the normal to me. Dr. Herfindahl has been a pleasure and I'm soo appreciative to him for helping me. I can gladly say that I am pain free. Thanks to everyone. My early mornings have been a pleasure. And I'm enjoying a life pain free...❤

-Adriana Dominguez-

“Dr. Herfindahl has been a pleasure and I'm soo appreciative to him for helping me.”

Prior to being treated at Herfindahl Chiropractic I was experiencing back pain to a degree that my sleep and walking were very negatively impacted.
After a substantial treatment plan as directed by Dr. Herfindahl I am now averaging normal amounts of sleep, I don’t feel like a zombie during the day and my mood is very greatly improved. Sleep is awesome if you can get enough of it! Getting normal levels of restful sleep has been a huge positive life change. Thank you Herfindahl Chiropractic.
As far as walking I’m enjoying it again. The joy of walking is a huge positive in my life. It is something that my wife and I enjoy together, and our dogs love it also. Getting my walking back has also been a huge positive life change. Thank you Herfindahl Chiropractic.
Prior to being treated at Herfindahl Chiropractic, I was waking up numerous times at night with pain in the lower back, mid-back and in the neck. Getting back to sleep was not easy and I was trying many things that were not working well to improve my sleep. I tried sleeping in a recliner, at different inflation levels on my airbed, with different angles on the adjustable bed and with different pillows. My average sleep was about five hours per night during a good week. The cumulative effect of sleep deprivation was impacting my energy levels and my mood. With respect to walking, I had been an avid runner for three decades but eventually had to change to walking after being rear ended in a car accident and injuring my spine. I had always liked walking our two dogs with my wife and we enjoyed long walks and all the associated health and sleep benefits of exercise. However, our walks were getting cancelled due to my back pain, or we were taking short walks and my wife was often walking on her own. When I did walk, I was enduring the walks rather than enjoying walking, the pain was just too strong. That was a big negative impact on my retired life!
All of that is in the past. With a weekly maintenance treatment at Herfindahl Chiropractic I’m experiencing the joy of enough restful sleep and walking with my wife an two dogs.

- Mike

“ The joy of walking and sleeping again”

In early November 2020 I went to Dr. Herfindahl so he could see me about some horrible pain that I had in my back. He saw me right away after I called, basically telling them it was an emergency. They told me to come in and I went into the examination room where he was very thorough. He asked me a lot of questions as well as doing movement tests to see what hurt. I was pleasantly surprised by that which made me feel more confident in my decision to come to his practice. I have a very physical job and I bend a lot so one day at work on a very busy week, I got this excruciating pain in my lower back. I couldn’t even move to the point that I left work early and had to see someone, I found really good reviews for this practice and decided to go there. My body feels great, I never feel any pain in my back most of the time. The doctor has me doing a lot more than just adjusting me and calling it a day. They looked at my body in a holistic way which helped me make some changes so I can improve my overall health. Following all the instructions that they gave me I have been feeling great since the first month. Better than I have felt in years! I have and would recommend Dr. Herfindahl to anyone who wants to regain their health and have back issues. This is a great place to be at and the attention is great. The doctor really cares about bringing your health to its optimal potential as well as trying to work with you to reach your goals. Ever since I arrived in the office the staff was amazing, making me feel comfortable and at home. I don’t feel like it is a task going there but I feel like it is a place that I want to keep going to. They are very genuine and have great energy and positivity.

- Cesar

“ My body feels great…better then I have felt then years”

I found Herfindahl Chiropractic via Groupon and came in early April of 2021. I was in constant pain, particularly in my lower back and hips due to my career in zookeeping, which I work in all sorts of terrain and can be labor intensive. My condition had only gotten worse over the years and after my first treatment and consult it was very evident that my body needed help. Since coming in for treatment by Dr. Herfindahl and team, I have seen a dramatic improvement in my wellbeing over the last year and have graduated to the Wellness group of clients. My spinal correction has improved out of the negative alignment! I was almost in tears when I saw my review radiographs. My pain and mobility have gotten much better, leading to better mental and physical health and allowing to continue to work with my passion for animals. The overall experience has been wonderful and the team here is awesome. I highly recommend everyone come in to Dr. Herfindahl's office for a consult, I know I look forward to continuing my journey and improving my health with this fantastic team of experts.

Thanks!
- Leanne

“Constant pain, particularly in my lower back and hips”

I had been going to chiropractors for years for back pain. Most of the pain stemmed from sports injuries and car accidents. But now I was in the most back pain I had ever been in. I was experiencing pain radiating from my lower back down my right leg all the way down to my calf. I went to the doctor to get an MRI found out that I had three bulging disks. I even got Cortizone shots from my doctor and was told the best next alternative was going to go to a neurologist and be prepared to get back surgery. I wanted to do whatever possible not to have to get surgery so I began looking up other alternatives to surgery and found Dr. Herfindahl. I saw that Dr. Herfindahl treated patients with a DRX 900 spinal decompression machine as an alternative to surgery. I went two to three times a week for two months. It was a long process. After some sessions I felt great and others very sore. I’m happy to report these chiropractic sessions along with the exercises provided by Liz and his staff relieved all the pain. Liz and Gigi are always very welcoming and it shows that they truly care about their patients. I would definitely recommend Dr. Herfindahl to anyone experiencing back pain and especially those considering surgery. Thank you Herfindahl Chiropractic!

Sincerely,

-Barry Varhola

“ I wanted to do whatever possible not to have to get surgery”

Twenty years ago, I hurt my lower back by lifting incorrectly (never do that again). The pain went away after a week but I felt something hanging on it. Recently I cannot sleep with my lower back against the bed. After Dr. Herfindahl treatment for 2 1/2 months my back felt lighter and can now sleep on my lower back. The treatment program includes adjustment, exercises and prevention and it was painless and gentle.

I would recommend Dr. Herfindahl for my family, friends, and whoever I know with back and neck problems. Dr Herfindahl knew what he doing and he cares and easy to work with.

- Lower Back Pain Relief, San Diego

“ I Hurt My Lower Back.”

My Previous career led to a horrible lower back injury that prevented me from doing even simple tasks such as putting on shoes. I was in constant pain and could barely take care of myself without the aids of a loved one.

I have learned to be conscious of the activities I do and how they may affect my body. The treatment I received allowed my body to heal itself through Dr. Herfindahl's care and guidance. Not only has my back never felt better but I have more strength and energy.

The advice I would give to those that are considering chiropractic care is DO IT. You may discover that other ailments you once had may be alleviated due to the overall well being that chiropractic care can provide. I found that chiropractic care actually fixes ailments at the source rather than masking them with pain killers or other drugs

- Lower Back Pain Relief, San Diego

“ My previous career led to a horrible lower back injury.”

Prior to coming to Dr. Herfindahl's office I was very skeptical to the relief I could receive from a chiropractor. I had been to multiple doctors in an attempt to relive my lower back pain which had taken over my active life. I could no longer participate in the simplest physical activities due to the pain in my lower back. However, after receiving multiple treatments my back pain was completely gone. I am still surprised that a few simple adjustments have restored my ability to engage in physical activity and erased all of my pain.

- Lower Back Pain Relief, San Diego

“I could no longer participate in the simplest physical activities.”

I came to Dr. Herfindahl because I was experiencing lots of neck strain and tension as well as tingling in my arm and hand. It was really helpful to see my X-rays and see the spinal alignment issues that were causing the problems. With regular adjustments, the pain and tingling subsided dramatically. When my husband and I discovered that we were expecting our first child, Dr. Herfindahl was ready with alternate positions for my adjustments so that I would be as comfortable as possible. As I continued visits throughout my pregnancy, we were able to address the typical "pregnant lady" aches and pains, which were caused by my loosening ligaments. I'm sure these regular adjustments contributed to the ease of my delivery, which was quick and free from complications. Dr. Herfindahl, Heather and Liz have always been so warm and welcoming to me during my time at the office, and have extended the same welcome to my baby daughter as she now accompanies me on my visits. I would highly recommend Herfindahl Chiropractic to anyone looking for effective, family-friendly chiropractic care. -Julie Marriott-

"Chiropractic Care Helped my Pregnancy"

My journey at Herfindahl began in my last few weeks of pregnancy. A neighbor recommended the office when I expressed my worry of needing my son to flip in my womb. The doctor is well known for working with pregnant women Miraculously my son right before my first adjustment. However, there were plenty of other things I needed Dr. H’s assistance with at the time so I continued attending. I was dealing with (some times debilitating) spasms stemming from my shoulder down to my hand along with neck aches/stiffness that has been with me for years. After a few months of adjustments and traction (after my son was born) my muscles started to feel stronger and pain subsided. The exercises taught and the block seemed to work absolute miracles when diligent with them. Now my son is 9 months and my body is keeping up with him just fine.

We love coming in weekly as a family. The heart opened staff Liz, Kyla, and Doc have become a piece of our family and bring joy to our healing experience and life.

I would recommend this place to anyone to help better their health and wellness because I believe chiropractic care is absolutely essential.

Thanks for all that you’ve done for our family!!

- Kassandra

“ I expressed my worry of needing my son to flip in my womb”

I started seeing Dr. Herfindahl in March of 2017. I had been suffering from plantar fasciitis for about two years. At the onset of my foot pain, I visited a Podiatrist, was properly diagnosed, was fitted with the big black boot (which I wore for weeks), and eventually was fitted with orthotics - to no avail. I tried every shoe and drug store plantar fasciitis product I came across in hopes of alleviating my foot pain. In addition, I was starting to have hip pain and neck pain. Dr. Herfindahl started laser and tense therapy along with regular adjustments and exercises and within the first couple of visits my foot pain had decreased significantly. He helped me understand what I had done to my spine by not walking properly during the two years with the plantar fasciitis. With Dr. Herfindahl's adjustments, laser and tense therapy and prescribed exercises, I am happy to say I am pain free. I would and do highly recommend Dr. Herfindahl and his office (the kindest staff you will ever meet) to everyone I know.

-Kathy Combs-

“ I Would and do Highly Recommend Dr. Herfindahl”

Dr Herfindahl saw me for a scoliosis problem, spinal stenosis and degenerative vertebrae. I was constantly in so much pain; my regular Dr referred me for epidural injections and a lot of cortisone that caused more problems rather than healing my back. Then my daughter gave me a gift to go with Dr Herfindahl, such a blessing, and I started the decompression and the adjustments. My life changed drastically, from being in bed for almost 2 months to riding my horse again. I know that this will be a chronic problem that I will have to handle my whole life but thanks to Dr Herfindahl I am now having a better quality of life. While, of course, taking care of myself and taking precautions I am now back to doing what I love the most, riding my horse!!

- Sincerely Mabel Tiscareno

“A Life Changing Story”

I'm 61, and I consider myself to be quite healthy, with the exception of osteoporosis and osteoarthritis. Those conditions led to a total hip replacement in June. I was healing very well, until I was in a bad car accident in July, followed by hip dislocation in August (on the first day of school, right in front of my 34 6th graders!). Following the dislocation, I was in so much pain that I couldn't work. I went to physical therapy on a regular basis, to no avail. The orthopedic surgeon was also unable to help me.I returned to work in September, but was in constant pain. Every step was excruciating, and I couldn't walk without a cane.

My grandson, who is 13, and his other grandmother had been seeing Dr. Herfindahl on a regular basis, with amazing results. In desperation (I've always been a bit leery about chiropractors in general), I made an appointment.

What a shock that first appointment was! I couldn't believe the kindness of the staff. The thoroughness of the exam, and the detailed questions I was asked by Dr. Herfindahl. He truly listened, took copious notes...he was like a detective determined to solve a puzzling mystery. I was so overwhelmed by this first visit that I found myself in tears on the way home. For the first time, I felt like there was hope.

I can truly say that, beginning with my first treatment, I noticed a marked improvement. It only lasted a few hours initially, but every visit provided more relief with longer lasting results. After 4-5 weeks, I stopped using the cane. And now - 3 1/2 months later, my hip feels strong and totally pain free! It's amazing!

I plan to continue seeing Dr. Herfindahl to maintain this new level of health. I also plan to continue because I can't imagine missing out on Liz's upbeat, humorous enthusiasm, or Kyla's amazing massages.

I am grateful, beyond words, for Dr. Herfindahl and his amazing staff.

-Lynne Baker

“After 4-5 weeks, I stopped using the cane”

I was referred to Dr. Ashley Herfindahl through a friend. I am so glad that I gave Dr. Ashley Herfindahl a try. The staff and doctor are professional and very friendly. I initially went to him for hip pain. After a full assessment of my spine he was able to see where my trouble spots were. At first I thought I did not have that many issues until I started feeling better. I did not know that my range of motion has decreased along with my flexibility over the years. My neck, middle and low back including my hips feel so much better. I feel more stable and can move better and faster. I am an active person who works out and plays coed softball 5 days a week. He encouraged me to continue while going thru my treatment plan. I noticed a change in everything that I do for the better!!! I have referred my husband to Dr. Herfindahl as I know he will be able to help him. Thank you Herfindahl Chiropractic! -Susie Hernandez-

“I feel more stable and can move better and faster.”

My name is Kim Hinck and I am a Social Worker. I started seeing Dr. Herfindahl a couple of years ago when while sitting at my desk at work I noticed a tingling sensation going down both arms. On further reflection I realized that I was having trouble daily just getting out of bed and doing other routine activities due to back pain. Dr. Herfindahl listened to my concerns when I told him I could no longer live with the pain I was feeling. He began treating me with weekly adjustments and set me up with an exercise regimen that has decreased my pain dramatically. I no longer have the tingling sensation in my arms and I am able to get out of bed in the morning without pain. In addition I have had other issues including headaches and Plantar Fasciitis which Dr. Herfindahl has treated with great success. The headaches have decreased in frequency and the pain in my foot from the Plantar Fasciitis has been greatly reduced with just a few adjustments. I would recommend Herfindahl Chiropractic to anyone experiencing pain that is having a negative impact on their lives. The staff at Dr. Herfindahl's office is top notch and always friendly. Liz and Heather along with Dr. Herfindahl make every visit pleasant and informative in addition to being very efficient allowing one to be treated during the work day with very little inconvenience. I would like to thank Dr. Ashley Herfindahl for his commitment to the health and well being of his patients and more specifically for improving my quality. -Kim Hinck-

“I No Longer Have Tingling Sensation Going Down My Arm”

I went to Dr. Herfindahl for a number of physical issues. My body had experienced numerous traumas in its lifetime, from 2 severe car accidents to other accidents due to just being very physically active. During my review Dr. Herfindahl diagnosed me with a forward curvature in my neck and subluxations in my spine. I started treatment to correct these issues and can look ahead to being physically active as the years progress. It’s a challenge to overcome natural disintegration from severe bone breaks and tears of tendons and ligaments but Dr. Herfindahl has provided me with the optimal health my innate self can provide to overcome those obstacles. It took me 30 years to find the Chiropractor that I have found in Dr. Herfindahl and a privilege to refer to him as a friend. The staff lives and breaths the want to help people and the professional skills to provide just that.
Thank You Dr. Herfindahl and staff.

– Sincerely Heather

“ It took me 30 years to find the Chiropractor that I have found in Dr. Herfindahl”

Over 15 years ago I became a patient of Dr. Ashley when he was at his old north PB office by Gold’s Gym, and stayed on with him during his move to Mission Valley. Back then I was still feeling the effects of getting thrown off a horse and having my car rear-ended that had happened ten years beforehand. My MRI indicated bulges in two of my discs, as well as neck whiplash. I had sciatic nerve and lower back pain and discomfort. When I first saw Dr. Ashley for my condition, I immediately felt comfortable with him and knew that he really cared about my physical and emotional well-being. I had been to a few other chiropractors before, but he was the first one to be able to adjust my neck, enabling me to experience relief and increased mobility. He also gave me exercises to complete, and later on referred me to the personal trainer Noelle, who helped me with strength training and movement. After continued chiropractic care, Dr. Ashley recommended that I undergo a standing MRI in order to assess my progress. I was astounded when I learned that the new MRI results showed that I no longer had bulges in my discs. My chiropractic care could move into a period of maintenance and support rather than focusing solely on ‘healing’ my injuries. When I became pregnant with my first son more than 11 years ago, I was very worried about an increase in my pain and discomfort. I had heard many stories from pregnant friends whose physical ailments intensified, and some who endured lower back and hip pain for the first time. To my surprise, I learned Dr. Ashley can easily perform manipulations on pregnant women. I maintained my adjustments every two weeks before I delivered, and RARELY had any back or hip issues, or spike in my pain. Without being under Dr. Ashley’s care during that pregnancy and the following one, I truly believe that I would have experienced a lot more discomfort and pain. A true testament to my commitment to chiropractic care is that my sons, now ages 10 and 8, also receive chiropractic adjustments with Dr. Ashley. He assesses their needs and carefully adjusts them. If he determines that they do not require adjustments during their appointments, then he will not do any manipulations. Additionally, throughout the years, the office staff has become like family to me. They have gotten to know me and my children very well. The staff reminds me about appointments, and when I have a flare-up or require immediate attention, they ensure that I get seen by Dr. Ashley at his very earliest convenience. I feel grateful for everything that Dr. Ashley and his staff – Anna, Heather, Kyla and Liz – do for me and their other patients every month, and I am happy to refer my friends and family to them. Without their care, attention to detail and support, I know that my health and overall well-being would be very different than it is today. With much appreciation and gratitude to them, I write this story of success.

- Stacie Bresler-Reinstein

“I would rather have Dr. Herfindahl than a physician who only wants to numb my pain with prescription pills”

I found Dr. Herfindahl on Groupon. I liked his services that were listed and he was close to my work. I have seen several chiropractors in the last 10 years, because of my many conditions of the skeletal / nerve and muscle symptoms. When I met with the Doc, he took his time in my evaluation. Then he listened to me talk about my pain. During the 8 weeks session, at twice a week, each time the Doc would ask about my day and how I was feeling and checking my progress. It’s so refreshing to have a Doc take the time and ask about how you are and not make you feel like you're in an assembly line waiting to get cracked...lol... I have made tremendous progress with the Doc, sometimes I feel like I don’t need to go anymore, but I know that I will always need the Doc... to help keep me in alignment and my skeletal/nerve and muscles in perfect harmony that keeps me pain free ... I would rather have Dr. Herfindahl than a physician who only wants to numb my pain with prescription pills., which I feel only causes more issues down the line. From the first day that I walked in the door, those girls up front didn’t make me feel like a new patient...I felt right at home. -Pamela Bishop, Hensel Phelps Const Co. -

“I would rather have Dr. Herfindahl than a physician who only wants to numb my pain with prescription pills”

Originally, I saw Dr. Herfindahl two years ago for what I thought was a monthly tune-up. There were not any major problems. A tight neck or shoulders or back every so often. I am learning at age 73 to listen to my body and to follow the directions. What impressed me about Dr. Herfindahl was the way he educates the patient. It was my first time seeing not only various x-rays of my body but also having them explained in detail. Then Dr. Herfindahl took other tests of my bone structure, that gave me a print out, so that I could see what was happening in my body. The staff is professional, joyful, and express a sense of humor. A pleasant disposition is important for me to experience when I go to a doctor office. Now I share with whoever will listen. If you want an excellent education of “your” body, pay the $49 and wow! Then decide if you choose to continue with Dr. Herfindahl as your chiropractor. In Gratitude, - Merlene Bukovich

“Dr. Herfindahl is an excellent educator of “your” body”

I have been seeing Dr. Herfindahl since November 2021. I originally came in due to back pain that I had been experiencing for the past 4 years making it difficult for me to do all the things I loved and hard to keep up with my daughter.

I was making great strides in recovering but then I was involved in a car accident in January. Luckily, I saw Dr. Herfindahl the day after my accident which helped me recovery be a lot quicker. I was back to all my activities within two months! I know if I was not seeing Dr. Herfindahl I may still be feeling the effects of my accident.

I can now work out again without the worry of throwing my back out and I can keep up with my active daughter.

My fiancé now sees Dr. Herfindahl and I’m seeing great strides in his recovery for back issues as well.

I highly recommend anyone who is looking for a great chiropractor to come in and see Dr. Herfindahl. Plus, all the wonderful ladies who work with the Dr. are amazing and will make you feel like you’re part of the family on your first day.

V/R,
- Nikki Hayden

“I originally came in due to back pain that I had been experiencing for the past 4 years”

I'm 61, and I consider myself to be quite healthy, with the exception of osteoporosis and osteoarthritis. Those conditions led to a total hip replacement in June. I was healing very well, until I was in a bad car accident in July, followed by hip dislocation in August (on the first day of school, right in front of my 34 6th graders!). Following the dislocation, I was in so much pain that I couldn't work. I went to physical therapy on a regular basis, to no avail. The orthopedic surgeon was also unable to help me.I returned to work in September, but was in constant pain. Every step was excruciating, and I couldn't walk without a cane.

My grandson, who is 13, and his other grandmother had been seeing Dr. Herfindahl on a regular basis, with amazing results. In desperation (I've always been a bit leery about chiropractors in general), I made an appointment.

What a shock that first appointment was! I couldn't believe the kindness of the staff. The thoroughness of the exam, and the detailed questions I was asked by Dr. Herfindahl. He truly listened, took copious notes...he was like a detective determined to solve a puzzling mystery. I was so overwhelmed by this first visit that I found myself in tears on the way home. For the first time, I felt like there was hope.

I can truly say that, beginning with my first treatment, I noticed a marked improvement. It only lasted a few hours initially, but every visit provided more relief with longer lasting results. After 4-5 weeks, I stopped using the cane. And now - 3 1/2 months later, my hip feels strong and totally pain free! It's amazing!

I plan to continue seeing Dr. Herfindahl to maintain this new level of health. I also plan to continue because I can't imagine missing out on Liz's upbeat, humorous enthusiasm, or Kyla's amazing massages.

I am grateful, beyond words, for Dr. Herfindahl and his amazing staff.

-Lynne Baker

“After 4-5 weeks, I stopped using the cane”

I’ve never been a skeptic of Chiropractic care but never really thought much of it, even with my Uncle being a Chiropractor. Originally I just came to Dr. Herfindahl’s office because I found a great deal on Groupon for a massage and Chiropractic exam. I thought, why not!?

I was surprisingly impressed during my initial exam. He was telling me symptoms I might be experiencing just based on the injuries I’ve been subjected to over the years and he was dead on!! Every single symptom. Neck pain, back pain, respiratory problems, equilibrium issues, hip pain, headaches, shoulder pain etc and not to mention, just over all depressed.

What shocked me even more were the X-Ray results on my 2nd visit. I wasn’t aware how badly my neck and back were so misaligned. I almost started crying. I had hardly any curvature in my neck, hence the neck pain. And my upper spine was curved. When he did my first adjustment I actually did cry from the relief.

I’ve been going to him consistently, 3x/week at first, and now 2x/week for 4 months and my mood has drastically improved. I smile and laugh more than have in a few years and it feels great. I have a lot of people telling me how great it is to see me smiling again.

Whereas I’m still in the Therapy stages and my body is still acclimating to the changes from Chiropractic care, I can most definitely feel the changes happening in my body. He uses Cold laser therapy to help loosen the muscles which definitely helps! And uses Nuero stem therapy which makes me feel like a brand new person every time I leave his office!

Outside of Dr. Herfindal’s experience/knowledge, his staff is amazing!!! I know most everyone dreads going to the Dr but I look forward to my visits here. The therapy is relaxing and the staff is comforting.

I most definitely recommend, not only Chiropractic care, but Chiropractic care here at Dr. Herfindahl’s office. He has many of patients but can still remember me and the exact problems he’s working to correct. Again, I can’t express how amazed I am with the whole experience!

-Alaina Lockwood-

“I most definitely recommend... Chiropractic care here at Dr. Herfindahl’s office”